my favorite [green] beauty products

greenbeauty_titleSeveral years ago, I worked at an all-organic bakery and culinary school.  I was the event coordinator for classes and parties, so I worked closely with local chefs and foodies alike.  During that time, my love for food really blossomed as I learned a lot about making mindful choices of what we put into our bodies, as well as how to use fresh ingredients to create incredible dishes.  This is when I began to realize my relationship with food, and what would become my language of love.

In turn, I started to see how our diets can change our health, for good and bad.  I did not go full-organic overnight, but I definitely took the nuggets of information seriously and with time, little-by-little, have made changes in my kitchen.

Along with making better choices at the grocery store, I became more aware of what I was putting on my body – in health and beauty products.  I was a huge fan of YouTube beauty gurus for all their ground work at the drug store and makeup counters and occasionally went to my favorites for their pre-recorded reviews and recommendations.  It was really fun.  But as I paid attention to what was in those items, I felt discouraged.  There is so much research out there, and while I believe we should all do some reading before making our own informed choices, I found the process overwhelming.

Thankfully, Jessica Alba started making waves in the non-toxic product world around the same time, with the release of The Honest Life and The Honest Company.  I plan to do a separate post on my super-fandom for the brand, but for now I’ll tell you that the book is all I needed to make baby steps towards a cleaner, eco-friendly beauty routine.  It reads easily and is relatable.  And, especially now, The Honest Company is a great brand to get started with, for their well-made products and credibility.

While I started with Honest (and still use the brand products every day) it gave me a great guideline to expand to different brands, with the right tools and information in mind.

These are my favorite green beauty products now.

Acure shampoo/conditioner.  I buy this at Sprouts and Whole Foods

Thayer’s Rose Petal Witch Hazel Toner.  I buy this at Sprouts and Whole Foods.

Tarte Colored Clay CC Primer.  I find this at Sephora.  I apply it by swiping the stick directly on my face, then buffing out with a stippled brush.  I wear it alone, or under foundation.

Tarte Amazonian clay full coverage airbrush foundation.  This is a great 12-hour loose powder foundation that does not crease, and has lasting power.

Vapour Organic Beauty Atmosphere Luminous Foundation.  I need to use this one more because I love it so much.  I buy it online directly from the company.  It smells nice, covers well, blends well, everything you want in a non-toxic foundation.  It’s more expensive than  my favorites from Tarte by about $10, but if you want luxe organic makeup, this is it!

Physician’s Formula Organic wear mascara.  This is an inexpensive, easy-to-find mascara that gets the job done without harmful chemicals. Win.

Honest Body Oil.  Aside from the Healing Balm, this may be my favorite Honest product.  I use it on by itself, or add a few drops into my body lotion just before applying for a creamy moisturizer.  It doesn’t have a greasy finish, and saves my skin in the desert climate.

Acure Brightening Facial Scrub.  Find this at Sprouts and Whole Foods.  I use it 1-3 times weekly and it provides the best exfoliation to my tired skin.  Try it.

Talk Back:  Have you ventured into the world of green beauty?  What are you favorite products?

*This post is not sponsored (these companies have no idea who I am). Some links may be affiliate/referral links.  This means that if you click-through and purchase the item(s), I may receive a commission/reward. You will not pay more for the product.  I only feature products I use personally, purchase with my money and recommend to others.
This entry was posted in Health & Beauty and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

