nourish: homemade chicken stock

stock titleMy journey in the kitchen has [thankfully] been more rewarding than challenging, and with time I’ve come up with an unwritten list of the items or ingredients I always have on-hand.  While my desire is to make delicious food, my priority lies in providing nourishing meals for anyone who sits at my table.  One of the ways I’ve been able to achieve this (along with lots and lots of practice, trial and error) is with homemade chicken stock.

There are so many great benefits to making chicken stock or bone broth, but I will lead and leave you with this one: you know exactly what’s in it!

I’m such a fan of making things from scratch, and a great base to many nutrient-dense dishes is chicken stock.  Made up of chicken bones and vegetables (see recipe below), it is then used in sauces, soups, sauté, roasts, cooking grains, on and on.

Plus, it is so simple and cost-effective to make your own that once you do it a couple of times it becomes routine in your kitchen.  It did in mine, anyway.  Certainly, if I’m in a pinch, I am not above purchasing a good quality organic, no-sodium added “stock in a box” but I have not had to do that in more than two years.

If you have not tried this at home, I highly recommend you go for it.  I know, it’s Spring in most places, but I like to keep this recipe on hand (one jar in the refrigerator, and the rest in the freezer) all year-long.

My recipe starts with the bones of one whole-roasted chicken, with the skin and meat removed/consumed/stored for later.  I typically simmer this brew for at least 8 hours, but anywhere between 4 to 24 hours will work.

Ingredients (all organic):
Chicken bones
Bragg Apple Cider Vinegar with The Mother
1 Tbs. Peppercorns
3 Bay Leaves
4 Celery stalks, rough chopped
4 Carrots, peeled and rough chopped
1 Onion
5 Garlic Cloves
Bunch of fresh Parsley

Directions:
1.  Place the bones in a large stock pot and cover with water, leaving just an inch or two of space from the top.
2.  Pour a couple of glugs of ACV into the pot, and let it soak for about 30 minutes.
3.  Throw in peppercorns and turn the heat up.  Bring to a boil, then place the heat on low to simmer (covered) for 4-24 hours.
*check on it every couple of hours to skim the top, make sure it’s not boiling and add water if needed.
4.  About one hour before it’s finished, add the vegetables.
5.  Simmer for one hour and then turn off that fire, baby.
6.  Carefully strain into heat-proof bowls, and cool to room temperature storing the freezer.
*I divide in 2-4 cup portions in freezer bags and jars.

Talk Back: Do you make chicken stock or any other ingredients that make your life in the kitchen easy and healthy?  Share in the comments section!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to nourish: homemade chicken stock

  1. I’ve never made my own stock- I never really knew where to begin! That’s probably a lie, I’m also too lazy. Its a great idea though- Thanks for sharing!
    xoxo K
    http://peeledwellness.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

