the only dessert recipe you need this summer: berry crisp

berry crisp titleFor the ultimate blueberry crisp, use Shauna Niequist’s recipe here.  It’s vegan and gluten free, easy-t0-follow, and simple to make.  It’s fool-proof and addicting.

I’ve never met a recipe I didn’t want to elevate and alter to my own tastebuds or those around my table, or based on what I have, and the aforementioned blueberry crisp is no exception.  There’s absolutely nothing wrong with that recipe, in fact, it’s perfect as-is and I want you to make that.

Then, maybe, try this one (recipe below!) filled with the sweet and tart addition of blackberries and raspberries.  And top it with coconut gelato.  Then tell me what you think.  I dare you.

I’ve been partial to the galette, or free-form rustic pie, in every season.  Filled with berries and citrus zest or stone fruit in the summer or apples and pears in the fall.  Simple and adaptable and delicious with a buttery, flaky crust.  I’ve served many galettes to nearly everyone we’ve ever invited to dinner and it’s always satisfying.

But now, I’ve met the crisp and I am obsessed.  I have no idea why it’s taken me so long to pop one into the oven, but there is no time like the present to start whipping them up and swallowing them whole.  Right?

I love that this recipe is adaptable, using minimal ingredients.  The filling is easy: berries and only berries!  I’ve used fresh and frozen, and both bake beautifully.  Whatever you do, use real fruit – not canned.  Please?  Thanks.

The topping is also easy to mix using what you have on hand.  Start with oats.  Add flour (I suggest and use almond flour/meal).  Sweeten with what you’ve got, or what you like.  I’ve been using brown sugar because I don’t have maple syrup in the cabinet.  Mix in nuts and maybe some coconut flakes.  I’ve not used either of those two things but I keep meaning to and then forgetting to purchase them, but I will make it one day and it will be perfection.  Lastly, a little bit of fat (Shauna uses olive oil, but I’ve been using butter since the EVOO I have has a stronger flavor than I’d prefer with berries) to make it crisp.  Use as much or as little topping as you like; think about how much you’d like with your berries and yogurt because I promise you, you will eat this for breakfast if there are any leftovers!

Seriously, this is the only dessert recipe you need this summer!

berrycrisp2 berrycrisp w gelatoIngredients:
Filling:
6-8 cups of berries (enough to fill your dish 1.5″)

Topping:
2 cups oats
1 cup almond meal
1/3-1/2 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup butter
Optional: 3/4 cups sliced almonds, 1/4 cup coconut

Directions:
1.  Place berries into a 9×13 pan.
2.  Mix up topping ingredients and sprinkle over the fruit.
3.  Bake at 350 degrees 35-45 minutes (longer if the fruit is frozen), until bubbly a light golden.
4.  Serve with sweetened whipped cream, coconut gelato, or vanilla ice cream.
*Also delicious with a dollop of greek yogurt for breakfast. So right.

I hope you try this recipe this upcoming weekend.  I think I’ll make it again.  Let me know what you think!

xo, mh

 

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

